Baker Elementary: (469) 219-2121
Boyer Elementary: (469) 219-2241
Cockrell Elementary: (469) 219-2131
Folsom Elementary: (469) 219-2111
Furr Elementary: (469) 219-2281
Hughes Elementary: (469) 219-2231
Johnson Elementary: (469) 219-2341
Light Farms Elementary: (469) 219-2141
Rucker Elementary: (469) 219-2101
Spradley Elementary: (469) 219-2251
Stuber Elementary: (469) 219-2291
Windsong Ranch Elementary: (469) 219-2221
Hays Middle School: (469) 219-2261
Reynolds Middle School: (469) 219-2166
Rogers Middle School: (469) 219-2151
Rushing Middle School: (469) 219-2371
Prosper High School: (469) 219-2181
Rock Hill High School: (469) 219-2301
PISD Attendance At-A-Glance
Below you will find a quick overview of the PISD School Attendance policies, but it is highly recommended that parents review the Student
Handbooks for your child's campus located on the PISD website (click here) to become familiar with the Attendance policy.
- Parents should notify the school the morning their child will be absent. Please send notification by emailing the attendance clerk or the attendance email as stipulated on the campus Attendance page.
- When a student returns from an absence, a signed parent note or doctor’s note explaining the reason for the absence must be sent to the school within 2 days of the absence. The phone call or email that a parent sent notifying the school on the morning the student was absent does not qualify as an absence note.
- Parent’s Note after an Absence On the day a student is absent; parents should call or e-mail the attendance clerk. Upon the student returning to school— the student must bring a note signed by the parent that describes the reason for the absence within two days of the absence or the absence will be unexcused. A parent e-mail sent directly to the attendance clerk describing the reason for the absence will also be accepted if received within two days of the absence. A note signed by the student, even with the parent’s permission, will not be accepted unless the student is 18 or older.
- Parents will be allowed to write a total of only 5 absence notes during the school year. Once you have exceeded this maximum, all absences will be considered unexcused. A list of acceptable absences (those that will be excused) are listed in the Student Handbook.
- If a student is absent for more than 5 consecutive days due to illness, a parent note will not be accepted. A statement from a doctor or medical clinic explaining the reason for the absence must accompany the student upon their return to school.
- If your child leaves during the day for a doctor or dentist appointment, a doctor’s note must be brought back on the same day or the next morning in order for the absence(s) to be considered “medical”.
Laws Governing Compulsory Attendance in Texas Schools
House Bill 2398 requires notification of the compulsory attendance laws in the state of Texas. A school district shall notify all student’s parent(s) in writing that if the student is absent on 10 or more days or parts of days within a 6 month period, the student’s parent is subject to prosecution and the student is subject to referral to truancy court for truant conduct. This letter shall serve as notification to all Prosper ISD students and parents. This letter is to meet notification requirements and does not indicate that your child is under violation of the compulsory attendance laws.
Compulsory Attendance: Texas requires a child who is at least 6 years of age and who has not yet reached their 19th birthday to attend school, unless exempt by Sec. 25.086 of the Education Code. On enrollment in pre-kindergarten or kindergarten, a child shall attend school. A person who voluntarily enrolls in school or voluntarily attends school after the person's 19th birthday shall attend school each school day for the entire period the program of instruction is offered and is subject to the same requirements for compulsory attendance for students under 19. A “failure to attend school” violation by a student may be referred to truancy court. Additionally, except as provided by Texas Education Code 25.092, a student may not be given credit for a class unless the student is in attendance for at least 90 percent of the days the class is offered.
A parent/guardian of a school age child has the responsibility to require their child to attend school regularly. When sickness or higher obligation necessitate an absence, a note (emails acceptable) signed by a parent/guardian explaining the reason for the absence is required within 2 school days of when the student returns to school. If the student fails to submit a note, the absence will be considered unexcused. A parent/guardian commits an offense of Parent Contributing to Non-Attendance under Sec. 25.093, if, after having been warned in writing, a child has unexcused voluntary absences on 10 or more days or parts of days within a 6 month period from school.
If you would like additional information regarding House Bill 2398, please click here: